Home

A picture paints a thousand words

In Eats, Singaporean on July 8, 2010 at 1:00 am

Ironically, this will be my first post without a single photo to show. Blame it on my intermittent internet connection that, for one week, I haven’t been able to successfully upload any photos via wordpress. Or is it a temporary problem with wordpress? Hmmm.

I was really looking forward to finally being able to show off all the ‘funny’ stuff I eat at home that I have been struggling to describe over the past year to my non-Asian friends. Yes, I’ve diligently taken a shot of everything I’ve eaten so far since touching down in Singapore, and each time risking my head bitten off by a bunch of angry Singaporeans dying to tuck in the food while it’s hot off the pan… yet now I’m unable to upload a single one of them. Arghhhh!!!

At the rate I’m going with Project Cravings-Terminator (daily eating missions with not a single repetition hah), these unposted photos would soon overflow like orchard road canal and be swept aside and forgotten at some point. So for now, here’s a list of foods I’ve eaten in the past 7 days….as a sketch of a few of the monster food cravings that 11 months in cheese-potato-bread-pasta-eating Europe has sparked! A little nutrition advice for you: do not resist your favourite foods for too long because it only comes back to haunt you in horrifying proportions!

Day 1: Chee Cheong Fun (Breakfast), Pandan Waffle, Shanghai Sheng Jian Bao, Red Rice, Teochew-style steamed threadfin, veggie stirfry

Day2: Century egg and pork porridge(Breakfast), Rojak, Satay Bee Hoon, Sugar Cane Juice, Peanut Soup, Ah Balling, Tau Huay

Day 3: Yong Tau Foo (Brunch), Scandinavian Cheese-Tasting Session (brought back 8 cheeses from Scandinavia!), Char siew bao

Day 4: Thosai (Breakfast), Roti Prata (Breakfast), Teh Tarik (Breakfast), Seafood Hor Fun, Sambal kangkong, Prawn Omelette, Cereal Prawns, Chilli Crab, Chrysanthemum tea

Day 5: Curry Puff (Breakfast), Handmade noodles, Ongol Ubi, Getuk Ubi, Jackfruit, Dragonfruit, Persimmon, Papaya, Watermelon, Red Rice, Sambal long beans, Yong Tau Foo Soup, Century Egg with pickled ginger!

Day 6: Soon Kueh (Breakfast), Bittergourd, Mapo Tofu, Taugeh Stirfry, Steamed rice

Day 7: Soy Milk and cereal (Breakfast), Chapati, Butter Naan, Thosai, Indian Fried Rice, Mushroom curry, Gobi Manchurian, Mango Lassi, Paneer Masala

Day 8: Kaya Toast (Breakfast), Shui Jiao Mian, Lapis Sagu / Jiu ceng gao, Mian fen guo (handmade noodles)

What a list for week #1 of home! How many of these foods do you know? (Click on the links if you’re curious to take a peek at what they are!) Wish that I had been able to upload the photos and tell you about my beloved foods one by one… but it’s difficult at the moment as I re-immerse myself into the million-plans-a-day-8am-to-12midnight hectic Singaporean lifestyle. I promise, the day I get POWDERFUL internet, my collage of photos would come up here with a gigantic TAG for ‘Eats’. 😀

Four weeks to go, lots more cravings to satisfy!

  1. Some of those foods look yummy, but how do you eat such meals for breakfast?? And people called my eggs and bacon a big breakfast… pfff! I hope you’re having a great time back home, enjoy! =)

Leave a Reply

