Home

The 10-min Stir-fry

In Chinese, Recipes on April 12, 2010 at 7:10 am

I can practically live in the kitchen when it comes to baking and cooking for others, but when it comes to cooking for myself, quick, easy, healthy and cheap is my mantra. Normally, I would throw some soup vegetables into the pot (cabbage, carrot and onions for sweetness; potatoes, celery, tomatoes and mushrooms for the glutamate savoury-ness; 2 ginger slices for the spice), take my shower, and when I’m done I’ll add soya sauce / miso / fish sauce / tom yam stock cube in some combination, stir in an egg, add a dash of sesame oil and pepper and a sprinkle of fried onions (6kr for 200g packet from Fakta). Then I’ll enjoy it with some reheated rice that I cook for a few days at a time, or throw in some instant noodles a couple of minutes before taking the pot off the stove. Hardly 5min spent at the stove.

When I’m feeling a little more escapist (cooking is my main form of escape from serious work haha, but now blogging has joined the ranks!), I’ll spend a little more time in the kitchen and go for the 10-min stir-fry (which btw can be done with the same ingredients). I happened to have some frozen lean pork (Netto sale: 450g of pork steak for 18kr/SGD$4.50) that I had packed into eight tiny 50-60g packets that I’d defrost in the fridge in the morning of the day I plan to use it.

Here’s a really quick and simple recipe for a friend who has been feeling rather tired, experiencing muscle weakness, having gastrointestinal upsets and a poor appetite. From her description of her diet, I’m guessing that she might be lacking vitamin B1 and/or vitamin B6 (*nutrition info) and pork is one excellent source of them [apart from my beloved bran flakes, milk and eggs, but she loves pork, so maybe this is a better solution for her]. Well, I sincerely hope this works out, if not, we’ll continue to explore the possibilities!


The 10-min Stir-Fry Recipe born out of convenience and availability

  • 50g pork (or double for a more typical portion) – or chicken / fish / tofu / mushroom / shrimp / surimi
  • half onion, one clove garlic
  • ginger and fresh chilli (if you have)
  • 1tsp soya sauce, dash of sesame oil, sprinkle of pepper, 1/2 tsp corn starch for marinade
  • 1dsp oyster sauce or ketchup
  • 150g frozen vegetable or as much as you’d like
  • 1tsp oil

(for those without a freezer, a tray of meat and a pack of frozen veggie would make two meals for two, so just cook the whole tray and the whole pack and store the leftovers in the refrigerator for up to a week)

1. Marinate the defrosted sliced pork in soya sauce, sesame oil, pepper and corn starch. Dash of wine if you have. (1min) [corn starch gives the velveting effect that creates the perception of a smoother and more juicy / tender texture]. Save the marinade to add at the end if you’re cooking with mushrooms or tofu.
2. While meat is marinating, chop onion, garlic, ginger and chilli (1min)
3. Stir fry (2) till fragrant in a tsp of oil in a non-stick pan (1min)
4. Throw in a bunch of veggie and a little water to simmer (3min)
5. When veggies are almost cooked, push to the side, sear pork and then mix around with veggies until everything is fully cooked (2min)
6. Squirt in some oyster sauce/ketchup/chilli sauce/soya sauce for more flavour and to taste. (15sec)
7. Serve with rice / rice porridge / noodles / whatever carbohydrate you’d like to eat!

Hope this helps, E! 🙂 I’ll bring some for you on Wednesday’s exam day.

Leave a Reply

