Home

FAB – Fat Free Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

In Baking, Friday Afternoon Baking, Recipes on April 3, 2010 at 11:57 am

Eaters beware: with all this media hype promoting instant solutions to complex eating issues, it’s just so easy to fall into the trap of thinking that labels such as FAT FREE (cookies), CHOLESTEROL FREE (ice cream), NO MSG ADDED (cup noodles) or ONLY NATURAL INGREDIENTS (sweetened jams) are invitations to consume the food freely. Perhaps they might be to some extent more healthful options in relation to their counterpart containing the nutrient / additive specified in the claim, but they are not necessarily ‘healthy’ per se. A health claim is not a passport to gorge yourself with the food item, but simply a piece of information to suggest it might be good if you make a 1-for-1 replacement of whatever full / additive-laden version you’re using right now, and use it like you normally do.

Let’s take the danish yoghurts for example: on a basis of 100g of yoghurt, a pear-banana flavoured regular yoghurt contains 90kcal (12g sugar, 3g fat), low fat 0.5% version contains 70kcal (12g sugar, 0.4g fat), a plain natural yoghurt contains 60kcal (3.5g sugar, 3.5g fat) and the low fat 0.1% version contains 35kcal (3.8g sugar, 0.1g fat). Conclusions: 1. flavoured yoghurts contain significantly more sugar i.e. calories 2. uncontrolled gorging on low fat/fat-free products is not a good idea unless you’re intending to compensate later in the day. Makes sense, right? 

That said, here’s a nice fat free oatmeal raisin cookie recipe for you. I have picked this recipe for my FAB because: 1. I’ve got all the ingredients with me (my breakfast material), 2. I love oatmeal raisin cookies, 3. it’s cheap, easy and fast, 4. I’m totally obsessed with chewy snacks and 5. if I can make some good study-snacks, while treating myself to some fibre and cutting the fat— isn’t that perfect?? But if you’re looking for a ‘healthy snack’, from a nutrition point of view, I’d suggest cooking the oats and skimmed milk into oatmeal instead. Nutritious and filling, with fewer empty calories and a lower GI index than these SWEET and ADDICTIVE chewy oatmeal raisin cookies. I’d make these over and over again, if I hadn’t so many recipes I want to try!

Chewy Fat Free Oatmeal Raisin Cookies adapted from Maddie Ruud’s Recipe

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1.5-2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 75g sugar, 15g vanilla sugar (or 90g sugar + 1tsp vanilla essence, which I didn’t have)
  • 1/3 cup applesauce (which I didn’t have, so I substituted with 80g pectin-stabilized* apricot jam and cut 25g of sugar off the original recipe containing 115g sugar because that was some really cloyingly sweet jam I had!)
  • 1/2 cup skimmed milk
  • 1 cup raisins
  1. Preheat oven to 190˚C.
  2. Sift together flour, vanilla sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir in rolled oats.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix all other ingredients.
  4. Combine (2) and (3) and mix well.
  5. Drop teaspoon-sized balls of batter onto non-stick cookie sheet.
  6. Bake 12-15 minutes.

(makes 60pcs of 4cm-diameter cookies)

*Here’s an interesting article on pectin-rich material as fat-replacers in cookies.

Recipe alternatives: out of curiosity, I placed some back into the oven to bake for another 3 minutes (tasters said yummy! – harder and less gummy) and some for 6min (too hard!). Still love both though, but I think next time I’ll flatten the cookies more if I were to bake it longer.

  1. nice:P

  2. i will try this Grace! =) btw, i hadn’t seen this blog until this week. i love it!
    keep in touch, you’re missed in Wag! =) *hugs*

  3. Hi fabiola!!! It’s really lovely to hear from you! Miss you too! 🙂 Really fond delicious memories of our pierogi – chinese dumpling session… it’s a pity that we didn’t have more chances to cook together. I’ve made more chinese dumplings yesterday — they turned out a lot better (and easier) because I found the right proportion of flour : water and was patient enough to let my dough rest. Made the extra dough into really nice springy noodles! I’ll post on it soon. Perhaps I should get magda to guest-post her pierogi recipe hurhurhur… they were sooo soo goood! Would you like to share your recipe for your Guatamalan sweets? the one you told me your floormates loved so much? 😉 It’ll be fun to make this blog really international!

Leave a Reply

