Home

FAB – Chewy Tofu Coconut Cookies

In Baking, Friday Afternoon Baking, Recipes on May 15, 2010 at 3:40 pm

A couple of weeks ago, silken tofu was on sale at the supermarket Netto, and I couldn’t resist grabbing one tetrapack off the shelf despite it still being 5 times the price I would normally pay (as opposed to 15x–I’ve seen the same tofu selling for a ridiculous SGD$11/ 5.50 Euros elsewhere). I miss tofu and all its soy relatives– silken, pressed, skin, dried, puffed, stuffed… tempeh, doubanjiang, edamame, soy milk/yoghurt/icecream…. hmm perhaps even some natto on my rice now would make me one happy girl.

Unbelievably this block of tofu survived uneaten for 2 weeks. Each time I’d reach for it and promptly put it back, hoping for recipe inspirations that would be befitting of tofu’s current gold-worthy status. I have no idea why I’m making such a big fuss about paying SGD$4– it’s not expensive per se (by Danish standards) but only expensive by comparison. Sometimes I’m just so stubborn. The good news is that in less than 7 weeks, I will be sitting by Mr Bean at Bukit Batok, pigging out on soya bean ice cream after stuffing my face with tahu goreng and yong tau foo… ahhh heaven.

It was just about time for another FAB session, hence I finally willed myself to let go of my dear tofu and make some cookies out of it. I figured that perhaps if I made the tofu into 50 cookies, I’ll at least enjoy its deliciousness over a greater number of days HA! I used about 3/4 of the block to make Susan’s Okara cookie recipe (and kept the rest to enjoy in a nice bowl of noodle soup). I actually had absolutely no idea until recently that tofu can be used as a fat replacer in baked recipes. Evidently, almost anything that disrupts the gluten network formation in baked goods (a balance of tougheners and tenderizers) can be used to some effect as a fat replacer — with inevitable textural changes of course, but nevertheless with very yummy results. :)


This recipe yields 50 small soft chewy cookies with the nutty bite of sunflower seeds, light crunch of coconut shreds and the mild fragrance of soy bean and vanilla. Put it back into the oven for 5-10 min longer if you’d like more of a crisp edge on the cookie for additional crunch and a popcorn-type roasty flavour.

Tofu Coconut Cookies adapted from FatFree Vegan Kitchen

  • 50g unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 120g flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 140g sugar
  • 250g firm tofu pureed
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • handful of sunflower seeds (or any nuts/seeds that you desire)
  • (3 tbsp water if necessary)

1. Preheat the oven to 190˚C.
2. Combine all the ingredients together in a large bowl (tofu last).
3. Add some water (2-3tbsp) to make a thick batter that holds shape.
4. Spoon heaping teaspoons onto a baking sheet and flatten with the back of the spoon.
5. Bake for about 15-20min until slightly browned on the surface and crisp on the edges. Cookies will absorb some moisture upon cooling, so it doesn’t hurt to have the cookies a little drier/harder than you want it before taking it out of the oven.
6. Store in air tight boxes once cooled.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

